I leave for India tomorrow, and since I keep seeing posts similar to what I am writing now about how you can travel with one bag and women commenting saying it doesn’t work for ‘us’ because ‘we’ need more clothes (I can’t find the post I commented on, and it wasn’t on anything I logged in with on Google or WordPress so I have no way other than looking at pages of history to find it). No we don’t.

I’m going to India for 9 days (technically 8, with 22 hours in Shanghai on the way back). What am I packing (clothes wise)/wearing?

  • 2 pairs of jeans (I know, some people never travel with them, but I don’t like the ‘travel pant’ material, generally, and hiking stores in Korea are very expensive)
  • 5 shirts
  • 7 undershirts (I know I’ll sweat a lot and this usually helps with the smell and being able to re-wear stuff)
  • 7 sets of bras and underwear (maybe I’ll get to wash in a hotel….I could fit more but are a bit to…flashy…for India)
  • 9 pairs of socks
  • 2 scarfs (can cover any exposed body part or cover your head, if necessary)
  • 1 hoodie/jumper
  • 1 pajama pants/shorts/boy-shorts that will double as my yoga pants
  • 1 pair of sneakers

What else?

  • Camera
  • 2 batteries
  • 4 memory cards (4gig, 2 2gig, 1 32 gig)
  • camera charger
  • medication (birth control, Iron pills)
  • passport
  • copies of my passport
  • vaccination report (I have been to Southern Africa and I saw on one website that India requires a yellow fever shot if you are coming FROM there, so I figure why not bring it in case)
  • 2 adapters
  • phone
  • phone charger
  • toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, disinfectent hand cream (counts as one thing because it’s all in 1 little bag)
  • deodorant
  • water bottle
  • hair ties (on my wrist)
  • hair clips (bobby pins ONLY, because they are small)
  • wallet (cash, credit cards, travel insurance, ID)
  • pens
  • journal
  • 2 small books
  • paperwork (itinerary, flight schedule, travel insurance, postcard addresses)
  • hairbrush
  • glasses
  • sunglasses
  • chapstick

This all fits into my 32L Eastern Mountain Sports Creek Freak Backpack that I love so much. I can’t find it on their website, probably because it is 4 years old. It has held up though Europe, Africa and Asia (so far, 6 months in).

